## TOWN OF CARDSTON MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE TOWN COUNCIL HELD MAY 26, 2020 IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS

Mayor Maggie Kronen in the Chair. PRESIDING PRESENT Council Maggie Kronen Mayor Tim Court Deputy Mayor Councillor **Dennis Barnes** Richard Bengry (via video conference) Councillor Councillor Paula Brown Peter Drew (via video conference) Councillor Gerry Selk Councillor Administration Jeff Shaw Chief Administrative Officer Shem Simmons Communications Clerk JD Haitsma Municipal Intern Community Peace Officer Shawn Lapointe **Others** Corey McCarthy Channel 32 Bill Hill Temple City Star RCMP Dave Payne ABSENT CALL TO ORDER The meeting was called to order at 5:00 PM. ADDITIONS AND ADOPTION OF **AGENDA** MOTION 2020-103 MOVED by Cllr. Barnes that the agenda be adopted as presented. **CARRIED** DELEGATIONS Dave Payne RCMP – 5:04 p.m. Constable Payne spoke to draft bylaw amendment. ADOPTION OF THE MINUTES MOTION 2020-104 MOVED by Cllr. Selk that the minutes of the regular meeting of council held on May 12, 2020 be adopted as presented. **CARRIED** BYLAW AND POLICY <u>Draft Bylaw 1643A – Public Safety Bylaw Amendment</u> MOTION 2020-105 MOVED by Cllr. Selk that draft Bylaw 1643A: Public Safety Bylaw Amendment, be given first reading. **CARRIED** Draft Bylaw 1691 – Public Notification Bylaw MOVED by Cllr. Brown that Bylaw 1691: Public Notification Bylaw, be given first reading. MOTION 2020-106

Mayor:\_\_\_\_ CAO: \_\_\_\_ 1 of 2

CARRIED

## TOWN OF CARDSTON MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE TOWN COUNCIL HELD MAY 26, 2020 IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS

## **OTHER BUSINESS**

COVID-19: Emergency Coordination Centre Update (ECC)

Mr. Shaw provided Council with an update from the ECC, and discussed reopening playgrounds in Cardston.

Unsightly Premises Updates & Discussion

Business Arising from Delegations: Constable Payne

COMMITTEE AND OTHER REPORTS

The following reports were received by Council:

- Committee Reports
- CAO Report

**RECEIVED** 

**QUESTIONS** 

None this meeting.

**CORRESPONDENCE** 

AUPE (Seeking political support)

Minister Kaycee Madu (MSI allocations)

Alberta Association of Police Governance (Soliciting committee members)

MOTION 2020-107 MOVED by Cllr. Barnes that Council nominate Cllr. Bengry to sit on the Associate Member

Advisory Committee (AMAC).

**CARRIED** 

CONFIDENTIAL

ITEMS

MOTION 2020-108 MOVED by Cllr. Drew that Council recess at 6:31 p.m.

CARRIED

MOTION 2020-109 MOVED by Cllr. Barnes that Council reconvene at 6:38 p.m.

CARRIED

MOTION 2020-110 MOVED by Cllr. Drew that Council close the meeting at 6:38 p.m. to discuss the following

matters:

- 1. Inter-municipal Collaboration Framework [FOIPP 21(1)(a)(ii) & 23(1)(a)(b)]
- 2. Unsightly Premises [FOIPP 20(1)(a)]
- 3. Contract Matter [ $FOIPP\ 16(1)(a)(c)(i)$ ]

**CARRIED** 

MOTION 2020-111 MOVED by Cllr. Bengry that Council return to the open meeting of Council at 7:47 p.m.

CARRIED

**ADJOURNMENT** MOVED by Cllr. Drew that the meeting be adjourned at 7:47 p.m.

These minutes Approved this 9 day of June, 2020

Mayor	Chief Administrative Officer
Maggie Kronen	Jeff Shaw

Mayor:	CAO:	2 of 2